The Roscommon Anthology: A Celebration of Roscommon's Writers

The Roscommon Anthology: A Celebration of Roscommon's Writers

Regular price €17.99 Sale

The Roscommon Anthology is a collection of literary writings by authors from or connected with County Roscommon. It was published by the Roscommon Literary Heritage Group in November 2013. Edited by brothers John and Michael O'Dea from Roscommon town it consists of prose and poetry from 31 authors. Some of the authors are well known and include John McGahern, Oliver Goldsmith, Sir William Wilde (father of Oscar), Douglas Hyde, while some are not quite as famous.

This book comes with the 'County Roscommon Literary Road Map' which shows the homes and birthplaces of all the writers featured in the book, as well as their histories.

Roscommon is certainly one of the quiet, forgotten, passed over counties of Ireland so it was quite a surprise to discover it was a treasure trove of literary jewels.

Featuring the writings of Gerry Boland, Patrick Chapman, Jane Clark, Margaret Cousins, Bithia Mary Croker, Charlotte O’Conor Eccles, Percy French, Kieran Furey, Oliver Goldsmith, Hanna Greally, Kevin Hora, Douglas Hyde, Ann Joyce, Brian Leyden, Alice Lyons, Tomás Láidír MacCoisdealbha, John McGahern, Arthur Murphy, Turlough O'Carolan, M.F. O’Conchuir, Michael O'Dea, Brian O'Doherty, Seán O’Neachtain, Thomas Heazle Parke, Grace Rhys, Dermot Somers, Edward Synge, David Thomson, Mary Turley-McGrath, John Waters, William Robert Wills Wilde.

Pages: 219

Dimensions: W 148mm, H 200mm, D 20mm